Is your Vision blinding you?

Ava_Fleming at Austin Belly Dance ConventionA recent comment by a friend reminded me of how easy it is to be photographically blind to what we’re really seeing in front of us.  

In particular, years ago I was photographing the Austin Belly Dance Convention in which Ava Fleming was the headline performer/instructor.  While pulling selects from the performances, on her Friday night performance I hit a brick wall.  My selects just didn’t feel right.  Something wasn’t clicking for me.

I had to back away from the tunnel vision of having looked at the performance photos for too long and take a break.  So I went and watched “Shall We Dance?” (US remake).  While watching the movie it struck me – Jazz!  The lightbulb went on!  I remember in reading her instructor bio that she had a modern dance background.   I ran back to my computer and BOOM! the selects were trivial to pick.

My vision was locked in to the familiar forms and moves and I was missing the picture she was presenting.  I could see it, but I couldn’t access it until I shifted my frame of reference (or my focus) to a different place, then the pieces fell into place.  

So have you been in a place where your vision (photographic, dance, life) is keeping you from seeing?

 

About vstrick

I’m an amateur photographer who loves photographing renaissance festivals and dance. They are great communities and I enjoy capturing some of those moments and being able to share them with the community. My day job is in IT at The University of Texas at Austin, wrangling the virtual infrastructure – working with VMware vSphere, vCenter Operations, SRM, Cisco Nexus 1000v, and consuming as many SAN resources as I can get. :-)
This entry was posted in bellydance, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

